Irma cover

Matchless Recordings, 1988 
AMM & Tom Phillips

Notes on this work

Back to main work

A recording of IRMA arranged by Gavin Bryars appeared on Brian Eno’s Obscure label in 1978 with a collage cover by John Bonis. The 1988 recording is the one preferred by the composer, performed by the spontaneous music ensemble AMM (here comprised of Eddie Prévost [percussion], Keith Rowe [guitar, radio, tape, cello] and John Tilbury [piano, radio]) with Ian Mitchell (clarinet), Lol Coxhill (soprano saxophone & voice) and vocalists Elise Lorraine, Phil Minton, Birte Pederson and Tom Phillips. JC